Finally, I am done!

After almost five years of continuous work–a mix of curiosity, excitement, occasional frustration etc.–I am done with my doctoral study. It has been a life-time experience. No need to say that the days after dissertation submission have been one of the best times of my life!

When I submitted the pdf file to the Graduate College, I received an email congratulating me for the successful completion of the doctoral program. But I did not have anything concrete to show to my friends and family as an outcome of this work. I then decided to print few copies (cover page below), which helped me realize that there are still some differences between “digital” and “physical”. It gave me a different feeling to be able to touch and see a hard copy dissertation. 

 

To the best of my knowledge, this is the first PhD dissertation on Volunteered Geographic Information (VGI). I studied OpenStreetMap to understand the mappers and their underlying motives in VGI. Click here for the title and abstract, and contact me if you are interested for more information.

Leave a Reply

